Earlier this month we announced the NY2LA Basketball Association that would bounce onto the hardwood next spring and summer for 15U-17U teams.  In two short weeks the platform has already seen commitments from quality programs in different parts of the country.  On Friday we released two additions to the fold from Illinois and Michigan and today we continue to trend upwards with the additions of two more programs from New Mexico and Illinois.



We are pleased to welcome Ross Romero and the New Mexico Force Basketball Club to the NY2LA Basketball Association.  Founded in 1992, the New Mexico Force has firmly established itself as a strong and stable program in the Southwestern region of the United States.  After 11 years at the middle school levels, the New Mexico Force added high school divisions in 2003 and the results have been stellar.  Over the past 13 years 210 alumni have received college scholarships with 73 going to the Division 1 level.  In addition to college success, they have had 21 alumni go on to play professional basketball including Michael Cobbins (Oklahoma City Thunder) and Michael Holyfield (Memphis Grizzlies).  The New Mexico Force have 16 former players competing at the Division 1 level this season.

We are also pleased to Dennis Kessel, Kyle Kessel and the Kessel Heat program to the NY2LA Basketball Association. Dennis founded Kessel Training in 1995 after a Hall of Fame career in baseball and basketball at Carthage College.  Dennis is also a member of the Illinois High School Coaches Hall of Fame.  His son Kyle joined him in 2001 after a two sport career amateur career that saw him play for Texas A&M in basketball and get drafted by the NY Mets professional baseball club.  He played professional baseball and college basketball simultaneously and after a trade in 1998 to the Houston Astros he elevated to the Houston Astros 40 man major league roster before an injury cut short his career.  Since 2001 Dennis, Kyle, and the Kessel Heat program have helped over 100 of their alumni go on to play college basketball at the Division 1, 2, 3, NAIA, and NJCAA levels.  Notable Division 1 alumni from the Kessel Heat program include CJ Duff (Western Illinois), Sean O’Brien (Southern Illinois), Quinton Payne (Dayton), Arias Austin (Northern Iowa), Sam Downey (Yale), Sean Steakhouse (Northern Iowa), and Sean Harlan (Illinois-Chicago).

We are pleased to have both the New Mexico Force and the Kessel Heat program join us as both bring additional quality and talent to an already strong group of programs in the NY2LA Basketball Association.

An updated list of teams confirmed to participate in the 2016 NY2LA Basketball Association are as follows…

(Note – Listed in alphabetical order)

ALL-IN/Y&R (Illinois)
Chicago Lockdown (Illinois)
Dakota Schoolers (North & South Dakota)
Grand Rapids Storm (Michigan)
Illinois Irish (Illinois)
Illinois Stars (Illinois)
Kessel Heat (Illinois)
Martin Brothers Select (Iowa)
MBA Select (Indiana)
Mercury Elite (Illinois)
Minnesota Comets (Minnesota)
Minnesota Select (Minnesota)
New Mexico Force (New Mexico)
OSA Crusaders (Nebraska)
Quad City Elite (Illinois/Iowa)
Ray Allen Select – RAS Milwaukee (Wisconsin)
R.E.A.C.H. Legends – (Michigan)
Wisconsin Blizzard (Wisconsin)
Wisconsin Playmakers (Wisconsin)
Wisconsin Shooters (Wisconsin)
Wisconsin Swing (Wisconsin)
Yanders Law (Missouri)

Stay tuned to NY2LASPORTS.COM for continued updates on the NY2LA Basketball Association.  You can also follow us on twitter @NY2LASPORTS and @NY2LABASKETBALL.